MENU
HIGHLIGHTS: FC Edmonton ends goal drought to defeat Pacific
Canadian Premier League

FC Edmonton broke a pair of unfortunate CPL streaks on Sunday, taking down Pacific FC 3-1 at Westhills Stadium on Van Isle.

The Eddies scored their first league goal in 587 minutes and won their first match in 51 days, a run that dated back to their 2-1 win over Valour FC – their inaugural CPL match.

Tomi Ameobi ended FCE’s aforementioned goalless streak in the 32nd minute when the captain outmuscled a defender to poke home his first CPL goal. The Eddies’ second came just over five minutes later when Oumar Diouck used his pace to break through PFC’s line and smash home another. PFC forward Victor Blasco came close to giving the home side their first marker early on, hitting the post twice in the first half.

The third and the final Eddies goal came in the 79th minute when Bruno Zebie smacked a cross first-time past PFC goalkeeper Mark Village.

Then, in the 83rd minute, PFC’s Blasco gave PFC quite the consultation prize. On a run from his own half, the Spaniard thumped the ball from well outside the box, finding the top left corner and scoring an impressive long-range goal, which would prove to be PFC’s only marker in the match.

While both teams are out of Spring contention heading into its final week, they do have a chance to impact the top of the table. The Eddies will play host to Forge FC on Wednesday (9:00 p.m. ET, 7:00 p.m. MT/OneSoccer) in a must-win for the second-placed visitors. Pacific, meanwhile, are set to host the league leaders in Cavalry FC on Canada Day (6:00 p.m. ET, 3:00 p.m. PT/OneSoccer) to close out the Spring session.

Box Score

Goals
32′ – Tomi Ameobi (FC Edmonton)
38′ – Oumar Diouck (FC Edmonton)
79′ – Bruno Zebie (FC Edmonton)
83′ – Victor Blasco (Pacific FC)

Disciplinary
65′ – Yellow Card – Son Yong-Chan (FC Edmonton)
89′ – Yellow Card – Jeannot Esua (FC Edmonton)

More to come.